The University Steering Committee consists of the following members: The Presidents and Vice Presidents of the Faculty Senate, the Professional Staff Senate, the Non-Exempt Staff Senate, the Graduate Student Association, as well as the President and Speaker of the Student Government Association, and a designee on behalf of the President of UMBC, ex officio. Each academic year, the members elect a Chair and Vice Chair.

Committee Members 2022-23

Jess Wyatt

Jess Wyatt, Chair, University Steering Committee
President, Professional Staff Senate
Associate Director, Alumni Engagement, Institutional Advancement


Susan McDonough

Susan A. McDonough, Vice Chair, University Steering Committee
President, Faculty Senate
Associate Professor, History



Dharma Bhatt
Speaker of the Senate, Student Government Association


Helena Dahlen

Helena C. Dahlen
Vice President, Non-Exempt Staff Senate
Executive Administrative Assistant, Information Technology


Loren Henderson

Loren Henderson
Vice President, Faculty Senate
Associate Professor, Public Policy


Ethan Post

Ethan S. Post
President, Graduate Student Association


Shubhi Saxena

Shubhi Saxena
President, Student Government Association



Emily Shrope
Vice President, Graduate Student Association


Ray Soellner

Raymon Soellner, Jr. ‘06
Vice President, Professional Staff Senate
Director, Communications, Information Technology


Desiree Stonesifer
President, Non-Exempt Staff Senate
Business Services Specialist, Financial Services

For questions, comments, or concerns please contact us at usc@umbc.edu.